Assisting Clients Throughout The Fresno, California Area
Andritch & Aed, A Professional Corporation
Get The Answers You Need Now
Call 559-495-9320

Ignition Interlock Required For First Time DUI Offenders

More and more states are beginning to require that first time DUI offenders install ignition interlock devices in their vehicle. An ignition interlock device requires drivers to breathe into a tube prior to starting their vehicles. If the device detects alcohol, the vehicle will not start. The device also randomly requires drivers to breathe into the tube to test for alcohol; if alcohol is detected, the vehicle will be disabled. So far, about fourteen states have passed laws requiring first time DUI offenders to install such devices. 

Last July, California started a pilot program requiring that first time DUI offenders install ignition interlock devices. So far, these devices are only required in four counties, but one of those counties is in the Central Valley. If you are convicted of a first offense DUI in Tulare County, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device. Installation costs approximately $100 and monthly fees are approximately $75. 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Top 100 Trail Lawyer | The National Trial Lawyers Avvo Rating | 10.0 Superb Greater Fresno Area | Chamber Commerce
Email Us For Help

Have Legal Questions?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Office Location

Legal Aed
2115 Kern Street
Suite 370 (3rd floor)
Fresno, CA 93721

Phone: 559-495-9320
Fax: 559-272-8411
Map & Directions

Andritch & Aed, A Professional Corporation
Review Us