If you have been arrested and charged with the crime of DUI, then it is essential for you to recognize the severity of the situation that you face. Pursuing a solid case defense is what you need in order to help obtain a favorable outcome in your situation. You may be experiencing a great deal of fear, anxiety, and uncertainty regarding the future that you face. The Law Office of Michael J. Aed works to provide clients with the information and the answers that is needed in order to dispel any unnecessary fear regarding the future.
Qualified Help From A Fresno DUI Defense Lawyer
A Fresno DUI defense attorney from this firm can provide you with the answers that you need and you can be sure that the firm will fight for you in court if you choose to retain their services. Refer to the following commonly asked questions to obtain valuable answers and information regarding the situation that you currently face:
What will happen if I get arrested for DUI?
If you are arrested for DUI in the state of California, you could be facing serious legal consequences and administrative penalties. You could only have 10 days to request an administrative license hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to put a stop to a license suspension.
What penalties will I face for a conviction?
If you are convicted of a first time DUI offense, then you will face license suspension, up to six months in jail, up to $1,800 in total fees and fines, up to five years of probation, and up to 30 hours in a DUI class. For second, third or subsequent DUI charges, the consequences invariably increase.
If a police officer asks me to perform a field sobriety test, should I do it?
No. You are not required by California law to perform field sobriety tests when asked. These tests are often only used to gather evidence to warrant an arrest, not to determine that you are sober. You cannot be penalized for refusing this test and it is important that you make provisions for your case immediately.
What if I refuse a chemical test?
According to California DUI law, if you are driving on the roads in this state, then you consent to taking a chemical test such as a breath, blood, or urine test for BAC (blood alcohol content). A refusal of this test will result in driver's license suspension for one year for a first refusal offense, two years for a second refusal within ten years, and three years for a third refusal within ten years of the first.
When does my license get suspended?
If you do not request a license hearing within 10 days of a DUI arrest, your license could be suspended or revoked immediately upon the conclusion of the 10-day time frame. Although consequences can vary from case to case, first-time offenders can be penalized by a mandatory four-month license suspension.
Do I really need an attorney?
Yes. The prosecution will most often bring evidence against you that may seem extremely scientific in nature. Found attorney Michael Aed has experience in this area and with his help, you can challenge the validity of the evidence, how it was obtained, and other issues to have it discredited. Additionally, he has experience in building strong cases to fight for your rights in court.
Representing The Criminally Accused In Fresno
The firm has been serving the residents of Fresno, California for a number of years in various criminal defense matters. If you are facing charges of DUI, then it is important for you to retain the legal services of this firm as soon as possible. We can provide you with the defense representation that you need for your future.
Contact our DUI defense firm immediately to begin the process of building a strong defense of your case and to pursue the results that you need.